Miss Universe 2015

To be honest, I didn’t watch it.

I stopped watching them about  four years ago? I don’t have cable. I probably wont have it until I have kids, if anything.

I didn’t even know it was happening tonight.

I did, however, find out about Steve Harvey’s mistake.

How, you ask? Social media.

Yes, that incredibly powerful source of communication that spreads messages in seconds. That tells stories, reactions, and can make mistakes even worse.

The later being perfectly represented by Steve Harvey’s tweet prior to announcing the winner and after his mistake.

You see, as a Colombian, my life in the United States has been greatly involved in constantly correcting people over the spelling of my country.

Nobody cares. It’s not important. They nod. And continue to misspell it, as if I hadn’t just explained the importance.

Don’t get me wrong, It’s slightly annoying that he named the wrong winner. But I understand, it was human error. A big one on live television that has thousands of Colombians infuriated, but one that doesn’t preoccupy me as much as the spelling he used.

You see, when celebrities do this sort of thing, it reaffirms the improper spelling of my country. It’s not only celebrities though. College books, regular books, professional articles, and every medium you can think of has misspelled the name…. And Steve Harvey’s mistake will be a new opportunity to butcher it some more.

So please, if over the next couple of days you find yourself wanting to write/comment on Miss Universe 2015, please spell our country correctly.

Remember :

  • It’s not a matter of “overreacting” because of a vowel.
  • It’s not a matter of how YOU feel about it.
  • It’s a matter of respect.
  • It’s a matter of pride.
  • It’s a matter of love.

It’s a matter of caring about how an entire population feels because we are not “important” enough to be properly identified as a culture and a country.

Leave a Reply

