Dear lost friend,

I’m not even sure where to begin…

It’s been so long since we talked.

Too long…

A couple of days ago, I found out you were getting married through a post on Facebook… It was a bit of a hit. It wasn’t a surprise, ’cause I had a feeling you were engaged already… But it really hit me. It made me realize how long it’s truly been since we talked.

Today, I received an invite for your blog. I liked it automatically once I realized it was yours. I went on it. Out of curiosity, mostly. I read your post and all the sections within. And then I remembered why it I felt sad that it’s been so long. I remembered what a beautiful soul you have.

And how much I fail at keeping in touch with those I care about.

I remember how much fun it was to meet you in college. Honestly, you were about the only person I met in college that I really wanted to stay in touch with. You were also the only one I was able to be completely myself with, and you still accepted me. Yes, I met other people, but they never saw the sides you saw.

And yet, in between finishing classes, graduating, finding a job, and just letting life get the best of me, I failed at being your friend. I have a tendency to do that with friends though, so don’t feel like it was your duty to keep in touch. I always seem to get carried away with things. I’m one of those super focused individuals, so it becomes impossible to split my time further than my fiancé and my mom. And even then, sometimes they complain and struggle with my attempts to integrate Gatinela with our bonding time.

I’ve kind of accepted my friendless path though. I take ownership for the fact that my personality has led me to have one friend, my best friend, my future husband. A new friendship never has the patience to understand me.

It’s also extremely hard to find someone who’s quirky, fashionable, nerdy, and open-minded. Someone who you can have open conversations with, or just enjoy silly adventures. You were that person to me, and I thank you for it.

Thank you for being an amazing friend.

And as you begin this new chapter, as you move into a new land, please know that I miss you. And I wish you nothing but happiness. I am sure that God has blessed you with an amazing fiancé, as He is aware of how wonderful of a human being YOU are. You are truly a delight to be with. I wish you nothing but happiness and love. I wish you smiles. I wish you the best that there is in this world, because you deserve it.

I wish you a marriage where your soul continues to flourish. A marriage that allows your heart to skip of joy. And more than anything, I wish you plenty of blessings.

❤ Daniela

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Bella and Esme says:

    Sounds like your lost friend was lucky to have you as a friend also x

    1. gatinela says:

      That’s really sweet of you to say. ❤

Leave a Reply

