Dear Commenter,

While I was reading the Business Insider, at the end of an article someone commented:

“I’m going to go to bat for Google on this …

I know that many of you are going to cry reverse discrimination on this …And yes your right ….but I think I can make a strong case that SOCIETIES need for more people skilled in math and science outweighs potential individual harm …

Tech rates of only 1 or 2 % for Black and Hispanic Americans is pathetic …we MUST do more to increase these numbers not for the sake of being diverse or because it’s the right thing to do but because society needs more people skilled in math and science and less people skilled in sports, music, gangsta life styles ect….

Believe it or not , having role models actually can encourage children to lean one way or another in their development …Apparently the black and Hispanic communities are a wasteland when it comes to math and science role models. ..

This has to change and it’s not going to be easy but I’m a big believer in the capitalist model and I think offering free training that could lead to lucrative careers is a step in the right direction ..

And so, dear Depression, let me reply to you in my own space. I feel no need to intrude upon yours, considering you don’t even have a real name. And it’s a choice to see things from another perspective, so I don’t want to publicly push my beliefs upon you.

At the beginning of your comment, you had me curious about making a case for society. Now, your case has fallen. The fact that you feel Hispanics and African Americans are graduating in “sports, music, gangsta life styles ect….” is completely appalling to me. In reality, a quick google search led me to a report that says between the years of 1998 – 2000 most Hispanics earned a college degree in the “social sciences, business, psychology, and education.” The report itself accredits the lack of interest to a disparity between the ability to obtain classes with high-quality math instructors and other activities that could potentially spark interest amongst students.

I can assure you that from my own experience, the amount of pressure that parents place on Hispanic children to graduate as engineers is nowhere near as low as you imagine. We don’t have a major role model like Steve Jobs or Bill Gates, but we do have the ability to see the quality of life that these careers bring. And so with that, let me give you a perspective as to why I didn’t succumb to the pressure of being an engineer.

As I was growing up, I remember my mom constantly telling me I was going to be an engineer. I loved putting things together. I was the one who fixed the electronics around the house. I was the one who dealt with any glitches in technology. I was fantastic at math. I was resourceful. And, I  had a deep passion for learning and problem solving. And honestly, if I had never come to the United States, I would have graduated in some sort of stem of engineering (as the majority of my childhood friends have done).

So what changed? Why did I pursue another path? Because I could. Because I had a choice. I didn’t have to fall into a default. I could truly explore what career made me happy. I found a passion towards writing, diversity, and art. Ideas that I might have dabbled a little bit in my hometown, but never consider combining to build a professional path. I never dealt with negative comments regarding skin color, upbringing, etc. I oly found these thanks to the focus in differences that are placed within classrooms, public locations, or as the media intrudes our personal space.

So while you might think this is completely redundant, it is not. Without diversity, there is no innovation. There is no progress. There is no change. “Sports and music” are careers. These are not stumbled upon. They take dedication. They take effort. And the fact that you lack the ability to acknowledge their value makes me feel sad for you. I’m sorry you don’t know the joys of the arts and sports. I’m sorry you don’t recognize the power that sports have to bring people from different backgrounds together. I’m sorry color, expression, and life is not exciting enough for you. I’m sorry that you’re missing so much beauty in life.

Most of all, I’m sorry that you believe that Hispanics and African Americans are trying to be better by the “gangsta life styles ect…” That statement in itself shows how secluded you are to society and minorities in general. I’m sorry you don’t see the hard work that these minorities do. I’m sorry you don’t see the immense effort we have to do to even have half of the opportunities the majority of the population has.

I’m also sorry to inform you that if you had looked a bit further, you might have been able to make a more educated comment considering:

Hispanic Bachelor Degrees

If I’m not mistaken, none of those careers even made the list. We make up a smaller population in comparison to whites, but we do have a voice in these careers. We are more than what you make us out to be. So before you claim that we need more math or science, think about other realistic paths we choose to take.

Leave a Reply

