My Newsfeed and Gay Marriage

As I scroll through my Facebook newsfeed, I slowly start to notice new profile picture notifications showing regularly. It’s not your average picture though. It’s their previous image with an overlay of rainbow colors. It’s a sign of solidarity and pride. Or at least, that’s how I interpret it. I’m not truly aware on the LGBTQ moments or struggles, so I won’t go too much in depth on the subject.

I will say however, that there seems to be a lot of comments on the subject. Many of which, I don’t understand. Not because of their viewpoint. It’s actually because they keep mentioning about individuals “ugly” and “extremist” sides are starting to show. Yet, I have none of those views in my newsfeed. All I have on mine are those of openness, acceptance, and celebration.

It makes me happy to see this overwhelming support towards this diverse group of individuals. It makes me happy to know I have surrounded myself with individuals who respect love and equality. And that somehow, I’ve managed to continue being selective on those “friend requests” I send out or receive.

This biased view makes me wonder if I’ll ever get a sense of the other side though. Not with the purpose of challenging my perspective on the subject, but simply to understand why they think that way. I want to understand what leads individuals to be closed off. I want to understand why a heterosexual feels more rightful than a homosexual. I want them to go beyond religion, beyond vagueness. I want a true understanding of why they feel superior.

So to those who are celebrating equality, I congratulate you. And to those who feel puzzled, I apologize for not being able to understand.

I can only hope that one day, I can understand both perspectives without feeling so biased.

Leave a Reply

