Life is the art…

on

Life is the art of drawing without an eraser

I read this quote a couple of days ago browsing through my newsfeed on Facebook.

To most people, I’m sure the first thing that comes to mind is “that must be hard,” which it is. However, if you have ever attempted to do this for long periods of time there’s another lesson to be learned. 

If you do things right the first time, you have no need for an eraser.

Erasers allow you to make a mistake and be like “oh it’s okay, I have my handy little eraser.” Even after you erase though, there’s always those annoying marks on the paper of where the line used to be. If you related to life, you could say it’s the mistakes you made but you learned from it, and now it’ll never happen again but we seldom ever listen to this. Instead, we fall back on the same old habits over and over again. If it were a drawing, you can say it has “history” but at the same time it’s now cluttered by all this gibberish around what you were trying to do.

If we lived life as if we couldn’t erase what we had done, life would be much more meaningful. Every decision you make would need to mean something. We couldn’t say “it didn’t matter” or “you can always start over” about any particular choice we made. Everything would impact our lives and truly shape us to decide what kind of individual we wanted to be.

At the end of the day, life COULD be like drawing without an eraser, but it’s really up to the individual to figure out what kind of life they want to have. 

I personally try and live my life as if I had no eraser. I don’t drink because I want to hold myself accountable for what I do. I don’t smoke because I cherish my life. I don’t go on extreme roller coasters because the “thrill” only leaves me sick. I don’t bend under peer pressure because I have a strong belief system. I’m the kind of person that thinks everything through before I act. 

Every choice we make could potentially alter our lives in ways we’ve never imagined. So why not make every choice guided by your values or belief systems? Make a very choice worthy of being made, rather than just going out on a whim.  

Leave a Reply

